UICB Faculty Among 2018 Carl Hertzog Award Winners

We are pleased to report that the 2018 Carl Hertzog Award for Excellence in Book Design winner is UICB printer and artist Sara Langworthy for her design of Naturans Naturata (2017). Among the competition’s honorable mentions is UICB book artist Emily Martin for Funny Peculiar Funny Ha Ha (Naughty Dog Press, 2017). Congratulations Sara and Emily!

Sara Langworthy will attend the biennial Carl Hertzog Award ceremony on the weekend of February 16-18, 2018. She was the first runner-up for the 2016 Carl Hertzog Award, and is the first person to be awarded the first runner-up prize one year and then to win the competition in the following award season.

Sponsored by the Friends of the University Library of the University of Texas at El Paso, this national award honors the lifework of one of this country's most accomplished book designers and printers, the late Carl Hertzog (1902—1984). The Carl Hertzog Award for excellence in book design was created to acknowledge the art of fine printing, encourage work by new and established artisans and honor the craftsmanship as well as the visual and physical elements of books. This year, 60 entries were submitted to vie for this distinguished award. The winner, runners-up, and other selected entries will be on display for two months after the Awards Ceremony on February 18, 2018.

To see Sara Langworthy's recent work, visit her website here. To check out Emily Martin's work, click to access her website here.